top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerose Lopez

Friday Night Lights

I went to the Harker Heights vs Stony Point game. I rushed over to Leo Buckley right after I finished my game against Cove, who beat us in three sets. I was still upset but I had to get my head into this new game if I wanted to get good pictures. I walked over to Smallwood where he gave me the lens and told me to not let the shutter speed go below 320. I set the f/4 and ISO to 5000 and adjusted from there. The action was intense, with Heights trying to get their first win of the season.

Heights student section was definitely the most energetic crowd. I walked over to them to get pictures of their reactions because they are so caught up into the game, they've forgotten everything else. All that matter was this game. My shutter speed didn't change, but my ISO kept getting higher as it kept getting later.



I turned backed to the action. Heights kept fighting, they needed this win. I was walking up and down the sidelines the whole night. If I wasn't in the right position, I wouldn't get a good picture. Lucky for me I was just in the right position when Heights scored.


Now for halftime. I was very tired already, and didn't feel as excited to shoot during the show, but I did. I was still shooting with the lens and adjusting my ISO as I shot. First Stony Point performed first. A lot of pictures turned out blurry when I uploaded them, so now I know that if I want good halftime photos I have to be just as involved as I am with the football game.


Now I took a break and got water and rested my legs. I was debating whether or not I wanted to shot Heights part of the show because this game was not my official game, I was still going to the Midway v Ellison; however, I decided to shot because you never know what kind of pictures you're going to get.

The award winning Crimson Belles put on a good show with lots of kicks, but like when I shot Stony Point during Half time, my pictures turned out blurry. My camera had trouble focusing because there were so many people in one shot. Next time, I'll have to adjust my f/4 to something higher so it can focus on more then one thing and then change my ISO.



Finally the halftime show was over and back to the action. Stony Point came back fighting, they were not going to lose against Heights. There was more action then the first half.


But with more action comes more emotion.

The student section wanted this win more than the football team, so the Heights started to make mistakes, they were not happy.

The game was full of ups and down, again being in position was key the whole night. During intense games emotions get high and the coaches can either get caught into what happened...

or they can get upset as they try and tell their players what to fix.

In the end, Heights didn't walk away with a win, but it was a good game filled with action and emotion. Some things I learned for my next game is to always be checking my pictures and adjusting my ISO and during the halftime show to adjust my f stop.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page